Bob Herrington, a long-time member of the Gopher Tortoise Council, who served as chair of the GTC’s J. Larry Landers Student Research Award Committee for more than 20 years, passed away in April 2016. His leadership and service to the Council will be sorely missed. In recognition of Bob’s contributions to the Council and his dedication to 30 years of teaching and mentoring students at Georgia Southwestern State University, the Executive Committee has voted to rename the Council’s student travel award in his honor.

This award provides financial assistance to students wishing to present their research at the Annual Gopher Tortoise Council meeting and is funded through GTC membership fees. Students must reside greater than 60 miles from the meeting venue to qualify.

To apply, please indicate in your abstract submission email that you would like to be considered for the Bob Herrington Student Travel Grant. Please note your location and university affiliation. Instructions for abstract submission, registration, and meeting details will be available on our Annual Meeting page. Recipients will be selected randomly from among those who submit applications by the deadline for abstract submission. Winners will be notified before the meeting and awards will be presented at the meeting.


Year Recipient Institution
2022 Sean McKnight University of Florida
2022 William Stiffler Eckerd College
2022 Garrett Lawson Virginia Tech
2019 Emma Cutkomp Florida Atlantic University
2019 Allison Kelley Marshall University
2019 Andrew Marx University of Florida)
2018 Heather Gaya University of Georgia
2018 Caitlyn Jones Florida State University
2017 Thomas Radzio Drexel University
2016 Heather Gaya University of Georgia
2016 David Lucien Florida Atlantic University
2015 Carolyn Reiland-Smith Florida Atlantic University